Both Christians & Muslims Claim Torah Verses

“I will raise up for them a Prophet like you from among their brethren, and will put My words in His mouth, and He shall speak to them all that I command Him. And it shall be that whoever will not hear My words, which He speak in My name, I will require it of him.” (Deuteronomy 18:18-19)

Christianity on one hand interprets this passage and point to Jesus the Messiah as the fulfillment of this promise of Yahweh. On the other hand, Islam claims that the passage had its fulfillment in Muhammad.

When we compare notes with Muslim friends and acquaintances we should insist that the passage refers to Jesus Christ and not to Muhammad. In an earlier posting I quoted passages from the Qur’an where Islam recognizes the Gospel record. Now in the Gospel of John Christ himself said, “For if you believed Moses, you would believe Me; for he wrote about Me. But if you do not believe his writings, how will you believe My words?” John 5:46-47. This statement was made by Jesus Christ in A.D. 32 and since Islam recognizes the Gospel Record, and Islam recognizes Jesus Christ as a prophet of God, this statement should be accepted. Christ said that Moses wrote about him (Jesus Christ). But Muslims say that the passages point to Muhammad. Muhammad claimed this for himself some 600 years after it was claimed by Jesus Christ. Muslims, therefore, are inconsistent on this matter. They deny what the Gospel Record says and deny also what a prophet said. Point this out as Islam’s inconsistency.(Eusebio Tanicala)

