Extreme Joy and Happiness

By Jhun Ma

Ps 37:4- Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Delight:
1 : a high degree of gratification : joy; also : extreme satisfaction
2 : something that gives great pleasure
3 archaic : the power of affording pleasure

intransitive senses
1 : to take great pleasure ²delighted in playing the guitar³
2 : to give keen enjoyment ²a book certain to delight³
transitive senses : to give joy or satisfaction to
–de£light£er noun

I.  Importance Of  Delight Of God  In Our Life

A. When God Is Delighted In You Because of Your Obedience to His Command and Decrees.
Deut. 30:8-10 : 8 You will again obey the LORD and follow all his commands I am giving you today. 9 Then the LORD your God will make you most prosperous in all the work of your hands and in the fruit of your womb, the young of your livestock and the crops of your land. The LORD will again delight in you and make you prosperous, just as he delighted in your fathers, 10 if you obey the LORD your God and keep his commands and decrees that are written in this Book of the Law and turn to the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul.

B.  When God Is Not Delighted Because of Disobedience
1 Sam 15:22-23 – But Samuel replied: “Does the LORD delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the voice of the LORD? To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed is better than the fat of rams. For rebellion is like the sin of divination, and arrogance like the evil of idolatry. Because you have rejected the word of the LORD, he has rejected you as king.”

C.  The Lord Will Discipline those He Loves & those He Delights In
Prov 3:12- because the LORD disciplines those he loves, as a father the son he delights in.

D.  The Lord Will Deliver Those Who Delights In Him
Ps 22:8- 8 “He trusts in the LORD; let the LORD rescue him. Let him deliver him, since he delights in him.”

E.  The Lord Will Uphold Those Who Delights In Him
Ps 37:23-24 – 23 If the LORD delights in a man’s way, he makes his steps firm; though he stumble, he will not fall, for the LORD upholds him with his hand.

II.  Who Are Those Whom God Are Delighted With?

Lord’s Delight In His People -Ps 149:4-5 – For the LORD takes delight in his people; he crowns the humble with salvation. Let the saints rejoice in this honor and sing for joy on their beds.

The Lord’s Delight In Israel -Isa 5:7- The vineyard of the LORD Almighty is the house of Israel, and the men of Judah are the garden of his delight. And he looked for justice, but saw bloodshed; for righteousness, but heard cries of distress.

God’s Delight On Jerusalem -Isa 65:18-20-But be glad and rejoice forever in what I will create,for I will create Jerusalem to be a delight and its people a joy. I will rejoice over Jerusalem and take delight in my people;the sound of weeping and of crying will be heard in it no more.  “Never again will there be in it an infant who lives but a few days,or an old man who does not live out his years;he who dies at a hundred will be thought a mere youth;he who fails to reach a hundred will be considered accursed.

Zeph 3:16-17 On that day they will say to Jerusalem, “Do not fear, O Zion; do not let your hands hang limp.
The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

The Lord Who Has Delighted In King Solomon
1 Kings 10:8-9- Praise be to the LORD your God, who has delighted in you and placed you on the throne of Israel. Because of the LORD’s eternal love for Israel, he has made you king, to maintain justice and righteousness.”

The Lord’s Delight In Jesus (As The True Israel)
Matt 12:15-18- Aware of this, Jesus withdrew from that place. Many followed him, and he healed all their sick, warning them not to tell who he was. This was to fulfill what was spoken through the prophet Isaiah: 18 “Here is my servant whom I have chosen, the one I love, in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him, and he will proclaim justice to the nations.

The Lord’s Delight on Those Who Understands and Knows Him
Jer 9:24- but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD, who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight,”
declares the LORD.

God’s Delight In His Servant (The Messiah)
Isa 42:1- “Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen one in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him and he will bring justice to the nations.

The Lord Delight’s In those Whose Ways Are Blameless
Prov 11:20- The LORD detests men of perverse heart but he delights in those whose ways are blameless.

The Lord Delights In Men Who Are Truthful
Prov 12:22- The LORD detests lying lips, but he delights in men who are truthful.

Messiah’s Delight In The Lord
Isa 61:10- I delight greatly in the LORD; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.

The Lord’s Delight In Honesty
Prov 11:1- The LORD abhors dishonest scales, but accurate weights are his delight.

God’s Delight In Showing Mercy
Mic 7:18- Who is a God like you, who pardons sin and forgives the transgression of the remnant of his inheritance? You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy.

God’s Delight  In Those Who Fear Him And Put their Hope In His Unfailing Love
Ps 147:11 -the LORD delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.

III. How Do We Express Our Delight In God?

A.  Delighting In God By Having A Joyful Heart -1 Sam 2:1-2- Then Hannah prayed and said: “My heart rejoices in the LORD; in the LORD my horn is lifted high. My mouth boasts over my enemies, for I delight in your deliverance.  “There is no one holy like the LORD; there is no one besides you; there is no Rock like our God.

Ps 35:9-10- 9 Then my soul will rejoice in the LORD and delight in his salvation. My whole being will exclaim, “Who is like you, O LORD? You rescue the poor from those too strong for them, the poor and needy from those who rob them.”

B.  Delighting In Revering God’s Name – Neh 1:11-O Lord, let your ear be attentive to the prayer of this your servant and to the prayer of your servants who delight in revering your name. Give your servant success today by granting him favor in the presence of this man.”

C.  Delighting In God Through Prayer – Job 22:26-27 – Surely then you will find delight in the Almighty and will lift up your face to God. You will pray to him, and he will hear you, and you will fulfill your vows.

Job 27:10- Will he find delight in the Almighty? Will he call upon God at all times?

D.  Delighting In God’s Command and His Words – Ps 1:2- 2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night.

Ps 112:1-3 -Praise the LORD. Blessed is the man who fears the LORD, who finds great delight in his commands.  His children will be mighty in the land; the generation of the upright will be blessed.  Wealth and riches are in his house, and his righteousness endures forever.

Ps 119:16-18 -16 I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word. Do good to your servant, and I will live; I will obey your word. 18 Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law.

Ps 119:24- 24 Your statutes are my delight; they are my counselors.

Ps 119:35-37 – Direct me in the path of your commands, for there I find delight. Turn my heart toward your statutes and not toward selfish gain. Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to your word.

Ps 119:47-48 -47 for I delight in your commands because I love them.  I lift up my hands to your commands, which I love, and I meditate on your decrees.

Ps 119:143-144- Trouble and distress have come upon me, but your commands are my delight. Your statutes are forever right; give me understanding that I may live.

Jer 15:16 -When your words came, I ate them; they were my joy and my heart’s delight, for I bear your name, O LORD God Almighty.

Rom 7:22- For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; (If not Delighted In God’s Law)

Ps 119:92 -If your law had not been my delight, I would have perished in my affliction.

E.  Delighting In God’s People -Ps 16:2-3- I said to the LORD, “You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.” As for the saints who are in the land, they are the glorious ones in whom is all my delight.

F.  Delighting On the Well Being of God’s People -Ps 35:27-May those who delight in my vindication
shout for joy and gladness;may they always say, “The LORD be exalted,who delights in the well-being of his servant.”

G.  Delighting In Praising God: Singing & Music -Ps 43:4 -Then will I go to the altar of God, to God, my joy and my delight. I will praise you with the harp, O God, my God.

H.  Delighting In Sacrifices With A Humble Heart -Ps 51:16-19- You do not delight in sacrifice, or I would bring it; you do not take pleasure in burnt offerings. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise. 18 In your good pleasure make Zion prosper; build up the walls of Jerusalem. Then there will be righteous sacrifices, whole burnt offerings to delight you; then bulls will be offered on your altar.

I.  Delight In Pondering God’s Work- Ps 111:2-4-Great are the works of the LORD;they are pondered by all who delight in them.  Glorious and majestic are his deeds, and his righteousness endures forever.  He has caused his wonders to be remembered; the LORD is gracious and compassionate.

J.  Delighting In The Fear Of the Lord (Of Messiah) Isa 11:2-3- The Spirit of the LORD will rest on him–the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding, the Spirit of counsel and of power, the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD– and he will delight in the fear of the LORD.

K.  Delighting Not In Evil -1 Cor 13:5-6 –  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.

L.  Delighting In All Kind of  Suffering For Christ Sake -2 Cor 12:10 -That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

M.  Delight In Sharing The Gospel Of  God  & Our Lives – 1 Thess 2:8- We loved you so much that we were delighted to share with you not only the gospel of God but our lives as well, because you had become so dear to us.

N. Jewish Delight- Isaiah 58:13-14 -“If you keep your feet from breaking the Sabbath
and from doing as you please on my holy day, if you call the Sabbath a delight and the LORD’s holy day honorable,and if you honor it by not going your own way and not doing as you please or speaking idle words, then you will find your joy in the LORD, and I will cause you to ride on the heights of the land and to feast on the inheritance of your father Jacob.” The mouth of the LORD has spoken.

IV. Other Forms Of Delight

A.  Father’s Delight-Prov 29:17- Discipline your son, and he will give you peace; he will bring delight to your soul.

B.  Wise Son’s Delight -Prov 23:24-The father of a righteous man has great joy; he who has a wise son delights in him.

C.  Delighting In All Our Work -Eccl 2:10- I denied myself nothing my eyes desired; I refused my heart no pleasure. My heart took delight in all my work, and this was the reward for all my labor.

D.  Delighting In Your Husband -Song 2:3- Like an apple tree among the trees of the forest is my lover among the young men. I delight to sit in his shade, and his fruit is sweet to my taste.

E. Delighting In Your Wife -Song 7:6-9- How beautiful you are and how pleasing, O love, with your delights!  Your stature is like that of the palm, and your breasts like clusters of fruit. I said, “I will climb the palm tree; I will take hold of its fruit.” May your breasts be like the clusters of the vine, the fragrance of your breath like apples, 9 and your mouth like the best wine.

F.  Delighting In Wisdom -Prov 10:23- A fool finds pleasure in evil conduct, but a man of understanding delights in wisdom.

